Back In The Saddle

I’m back, boys and girls!

Yeah, yeah, you didn’t know I was gone.  I get it.

Today, we get a new site and all that jazz.  There’s a reason for this, and it has nothing to do with hiding from crazy stalker trolls.  Instead, it’s purely financial.

You see, while I make my living by writing, it’s not always fiction writing.  Since I haven’t published a work of fiction since 2015–which is unacceptable for someone who calls themselves an author–I have been writing.

Well, most of the time.

Last year, I hit a rough patch where I wasn’t getting a lot of work, which meant I wasn’t getting a lot of pay, and I had to prioritize.  Food and shelter, power, those things weren’t negotiable, but things like web hosting?  Yeah…not such a priority.

In the process, I lost all of those blog posts and the attention they got.  That means I get to start all over again.

Luckily, I still had the awesome banner image my friend Allison created for me, and this time I decided to go with WP hosting.  There are disadvantages on this for a lot of things, but for an author, it’s not really the end of the world.  I might use a domain name again, but it’s not my priority.  This will do all I need for it to do, and my financial situation will stabilize just fine.

Here’s a few things to keep in mind.  First, I don’t plan on dealing with much in the way of politics.  If that’s what you want from me, then head over to PJ Media where I’ll be doing most of that.  This place will be mostly about fiction, family, weird stuff, whatever.

There might be a bit of that, but only as it relates to the genre specifically.

Next, don’t expect a lot of Sad Puppies stuff.  Yes, I still support it, but at this point, we’ve all said what we need to say and I’m not interested in continuing a discussion that will accomplish nothing.  All it will do is piss people off.

Finally, this is my turf.  If you want to tell me how much I suck, then I’m unlikely to give you the venue.  Disagreeing with me is fine, but I believe I deserve a level of respect and if I don’t get it, you don’t get a say.

More of this kind of thing as we proceed going forward.  In a bit, I’ll have some news about where I’m at careerwise and a plan going foward.

2 thoughts on “Back In The Saddle”

Leave a Reply

