Hard At Work

No real posts this week as I’ve been dealing with some personal stuff, but also been hard at work on Hostile Territory.  The book is coming along, but it’s also coming up a bit short lengthwise.  That means I have to find more story to put in there, and that’s…tricky.

Originally, Sabercat (coming out soon) was going to contain Hostile Territory as the last act of the book, but I decided against that for various reasons.

However, I’ve got a few ideas that should beef up the story–but not pad it, by any means–and make sure I’ve got an actual freaking novel.  Yes, that matters to me, in part because I freaking hate when I think I’m getting a novel and I get a novella. The issue isn’t pricing so much as perception, and I’d rather give someone a novel length book to meet those perceptions.

Additionally, I’ve been dealing with nasty storms around here this week, and some personal stuff (as previously mentioned), and my day job which is also writing.

So, I’ve been hard at work, but hard at work simply looks different this time around.

Luckily, I’ll be posting this, grabbing something to eat, and then getting to work.  I’m at the halfway point in this book, ideas for the next few books in this series, another series I’m pondering (fantasy novel this time around), and some nonfiction work. There’s no lack of ideas, that’s for sure.

All in all, it’s a good thing I don’t have a traditional job by any stretch of the imagination.  There’s no freaking way I’d ever get everything done if I had to do that too.

Luckily, I can get to work here in a few, crank out some words.  Who knows?  I might have this book done by next weekend!

Then onto even more work. 😀

Leave a Reply

