Thoughts On ‘The Gifted’

Fox owns Marvel’s X-Men property, and they’ve done well by it.  With the exception of what the did in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, they’ve done right by the property.

Their latest effort is the TV show, The Gifted.  The full-length trailer dropped recently, and I finally got around to watching it today.

I have to admit, I’m optimistic. It looks like an interesting addition to the X-Men’s cinematic universe, with a ragtag group of mutants trying to make it in a world that hates them.

It’s my hope that this version remembers the lessons of the comics and keeps the social justice preening to a minimum.

The show is slated for Fall 2017, and I’m eager to watch.

In particular, the special effects don’t have that low-budget, hokey quality you kind of expect from television thanks to the low-quality FX you see on SyFy far too often.

Of course, they could drop $100 million per episode on effects and it won’t help a weak story, but I like the gist of what I’m getting from The Gifted.  It’s not some epic struggle. Instead, it’s core is a family trying to remain a family while being chased.

I can deal with that. That’s a simple but effective story basis, one most people can relate to.

We’ll still have to wait and see how the end product will look, but I’m optimistic at this point.

Leave a Reply

