Thoughts On Charlottesville

I spend most of my day dealing with politics. So much so that I try to avoid it completely on the weekends. In fact, I now spend so much time writing politics that I don’t have much time for fiction right now, except on the weekends.

Unfortunately, the events in Charlottesville, VA yesterday need to be addressed.  I did touch on it on Facebook last night, but there’s more and it needs to be talked about in more detail.

First, while I disagree almost everything they believe, the crowd that gathered in Charlottesville, VA had every right to peacefully assemble as they did. They had permits required, and thus were free to do as they did.

I’m pretty much a free speech absolutist. I believe unless the most vile among us are free to speak, none of us are truly free to speak.

In that regard, what happened in Charlottesville was a beautiful example of liberty.

Too bad that’s where the good stuff began and ended.

Some there may not have actually been racists. Unfortunately, no one really cares. They found common cause with white nationalists, neo-Confederates, and neo-Nazis, and in the process they painted all of us on the right with a very nasty brush.

Thanks a lot, you window-slurping cocktacos. (Yes, I do try to keep profanity to a minimum when talking about politics, but I’m pissed.)

I spend a good bit writing about how we on the right aren’t racist. I’ve defended the right time and time again as being against racism, and then this happens.

No, it doesn’t make me into a liar, because I do still believe that the vast majority on the right aren’t racist, but it does make it a hell of a lot harder now because these rejects from special ed decided to march with vocally proud racists.

Honestly, if that was the worst of the day, it would have been enough. But it wasn’t. Oh no, we couldn’t have that.

Instead, we get the associated violence that shows up wherever Antifa goes. Did Antifa start it? Don’t know, don’t care. Between Antifa and the neo-Nazis, I really don’t give a damn one way or the other.

 

The violence started. In fact, I suspect both sides started it in different spots, just because these dipsticks are why we, as a people, can’t have nice things.

It was bad enough that the permit for the protest got pulled. Right or wrong, I get that.

But then one James Fields, Jr. of Ohio decided to get the last say and plowed his car into the counter-protesters. One dead, 19 injured.

The Daily Beast reports that Fields registered to vote as a Republican in 2016. Apparently Gateway Pundit claimed the driver was actually a Bernie supporter, but a quick look at their site failed to turn up that information, which I suspect means it was taken down.

Numerous Republican lawmakers–though not President Trump, so far–have called for this to be treated as domestic terrorism, and I’m inclined to agree. While it’s possible this wasn’t politically motivated, that possibility appears to be slim.

You see, I watched video of the event. Several. From different angles. The driver appeared to have slammed into the counter-protesters intentionally. If that is indeed the case, it’s hard to see how it wasn’t politically motivated under the circumstances.

Folks, that’s terrorism.

A trial will reach a final determination, as is right in a free society, but if it is what it looks like, then let Fields rot.

Forever.

Unfortunately, I’m concerned. Will this be the straw that broke the camel’s back? Is this the fight I’ve been worried about?

Or, will this and the government’s response to this–and the response by GOP lawmakers calling this terrorism–help ease some of these tensions?

There’s no way to really know just now. It’s my hope that this makes everyone take a step back and just chill out for a bit, but I’m not naive enough to believe something like that will happen right now.

Folks, I’ve been on the verge of tears since I heard about what happened in Charlottesville. Even before I knew anything about Fields, or even his name, I was on the verge of tears. This is horrible.

This should never have happened.

Let’s all stand united. Let’s pray for the injured to recover, regardless of their politics. Let’s pray for the family of the dead (there’s also a GoFundMe set up to help her family, if you feel so inclined). Let’s pray for the families of the Virginia State Police officers who died in the helicopter crash while observing the protest yesterday.

Tomorrow, we can play the blame game until we’re blue in the face. I have no doubt it’s already started, though. Me? I won’t worry about it today, even though I have my own take already. Tomorrow will be soon enough, if not too soon even then.

But let me make one thing perfectly clear. I don’t care if I agree with your positions on every. Single. Issue. I don’t care. If you think that violence is the best way to create with political change, you are scum.

Leave a Reply

