Thoughts On The New John Wick Trailer

John Wick.

What more can you really say? It is probably the single best action franchise around these days, and I say that as someone who generally loves most good action movie franchises.

Now, we have a new trailer for John Wick 3:

Yeah, buddy.

Look, I’m going to tell you the truth, I’m probably more inspired by action films than most any other form of fiction when it comes to my writing. I think part of what drew me to Larry Correia’s work is that he’s taken the awesome of the action movie and put it on the printed page.

So yeah, I take action movies seriously.

Yes, I recognize the irony in taking them seriously when they really shouldn’t be taken seriously by anyone. My general rule of thumb is that anything you see done in a movie should be considered as “unwise” in the real world unless instructed otherwise.

John Wick is a little different.

Part of that is knowing about Keanu Reeves doing three-gun shooting for training on top of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and even some concealed carry stuff as preparation for the rule. I mean, he basically is John Wick.

But part of it is that there’s this incredibly rich world that we’ve still only scratched the surface of, one that deals with the secret world of professional assassins.

The trailer here gives us a few glimpses of it yet again, and I can’t get over how stylish everything is. The look of old-time switchboard operators as part of the backstage world of the assassin, the rich hotels and intricate networks of support for these dangerous men and women…

Oh, and Halle Berry. Oh yeah.

Look, the woman is an Oscar winner, a tremendous actor, and I have little down she’ll sell me on the idea of her being an assassin. The fact that she’s still gorgeous at 52 years of age makes me feel so much better about my own 45 years, let me tell you.

Honestly, I missed the first John Wick for a long time, but then watched it and was blown away. It’s now part of my “must see” franchise list along with anything Marvel and the Kingsmen franchise, among others.

This trailer does nothing to change that position and instead gets me good and excited.

Now, if only I didn’t have books to finish writing in the meantime…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.